Socialize

Facebook

Third wheels say let’s roll

6:36 pm June 1st, 2012

Neophyte candidates for County Council and state senator aren’t daunted by long odds and experienced opponents

 

By Pat Jenkins/The Dispatch

For his first run for public office, Corey Drury is up against two opponents who between them have won 13 elections and served 38 years in office.

And he doesn’t feel the least bit overmatched.

“I just have to work that much harder” to win votes, said Drury, a 25-year-old Republican candidate for Position 3 on the Pierce County Council.

For voters in the Graham and Eatonville areas, Drury is one of two third-wheel candidates in this fall’s election. The other is Jim Vaughn, a Republican running for state senator in the Second District. Both of them are political newcomers in races where the opposition is much better known and far more experienced in the political world and at campaigning.

State Rep. Jim McCune, a Republican, and Democrat Marilyn Rasmussen are the bigger-name candidates in the council race.

McCune is leaving the Legislature because redistricting – a process required by law that reshapes legislative districts to balance their populations – left him outside the Second District, which he represented for 10 years.

Rasmussen, meanwhile, is continuing her attempts at a political comeback after her own long tenure as a state legislator (22 years) that ended in 2008 with her loss in a bid for re-election to the Senate. She tried in the 2010 election to unseat McCune but lost. She also was an Eatonville School Board member for six years in the 1980s.

McCune and Drury will run against each other in the primary election in August, with the top votegetter moving ahead to face Rasmussen in the general election in November.

Vaughn has a similar scenario – a primary race against Sen. Randi Becker, who is seeking her second four-year term, and another experienced campaigner, Democrat Bruce Lachney, awaiting the Becker-Vaughn winner for the November runoff. Lachney lost a race in 2010 for County Council. He also is a former Eatonville School Board member.

A former military analyst who has a small farm in Orting and runs a business that helps military veterans find jobs, Vaughn is positioning himself as a non-establishment candidate. He’s critical of the state’s budget and its tax structure and insists on different approaches to both.

In campaign statements, Vaugh has said, “I am not going to Olympia to be politically correct and participate in the standard business practices that have our state in a financial disaster.”

Drury, too, sees his lack of experience in elected office as a plus when he’s compared to McCune and Rasmussen. “We need a fresh face, not a career politician,” he said.

His age, which is less than half of his opponents, and his lack of name familiarity with voters don’t have to hinder him, either, Drury said.

“I have to knock on five times as many doors and stand at more intersections to get noticed,” he said. “It’s about who will work the hardest. My opponents might have more experience, but they won’t outwork me.”

The Spanaway-area resident is an engineer for Pacific Northwest Backing in Sumner. Growing up, he was drawn to political science and similar courses at Spanaway High School and Pierce College. That background drew him into the council race.

“In my job, I know the importance of good management and spending money wisely,” he said. “And I’ve always been interested in politics. So when I saw that (Councilman Roger Bush, unable to seek re-election because of term limits) wasn’t running, I considered it an opportunity to get involved and try to make a positive change.”

 

Legislature

State senator (four-year term)

James E. Vaughn (Republican)

(253) 241-9634

jvaughn50@comcast.net

Randi Becker (Republican)

(360) 832-2926

rbecker873@hotmail.com

Bruce L. Lachney (Democratic)

(253) 405-7525

blachney@peoplepc.com

 

State representative Position 1 (two-year term)

Gary Alexander (Republican)

(360) 951-7243

alexandergary@comcast.net

Greg Hartman (Democrat)

(360) 872-0404

gp23018@comcast.net

 

State representative Position 2 (two-year term)

J.T. Wilcox (Republican)

(360) 458-6903

jt@jtwilcox.org

 

Pierce County

Executive (four-year term)

Pat McCarthy (Democrat)

(253) 414-1798

info@reelectpatmccarthy.com

Bruce Minker (No party preference)

(253) 381-2707

BDMinker@hotmail.com

 

Assessor-treasurer (four-year term, non-partisan)

Billie O’Brien

(253) 579-6626

billie@obrienforassessor-treasurer.com

Mike Lonergan

(253) 759-3252

mike@mikelonerganforassessor.com

Tim Farrell

(206) 431-8081

timfarrell.us@gmail.com

Spiro Manthou

(253) 677-1114

Spiro.Manthou@gmail.com

Dale Washam

(253) 840-3567

hirewasham@yahoo.com

 

Sheriff (four-year term, non-partisan)

Paul Pastor

(253) 377-5390

sheriff.pastor@gmail.com

 

County Council No. 2

Joyce McDonald

(Prefers Republican Party)

joycemcdonald@comcast.net

(253) 770-80612

Daniel (J.R.) Wikane (Republican)

JRWikane@gmail.com

(253) 606-3745

Jeffery Hogan (Republican)

Jeff@votejeffhogan.com

(253) 279-3238

 

County Council No. 3 (four-year term)

Jim McCune (Republican)

(253) 732-0519

electmccune@gmail.com

Corey J. Drury (Republican)

(253) 255-6933

cdrury86@aol.com

Marilyn Rasmussen (Democrat)

(253) 847-3276

 

County Council No. 4

Connie Ladenburg (Democrat)

connie@connieladenburg.com

(253) 208-6522

Ken J. Grassi (Republican)

grassisfg@aol.com

(253) 278-1946

Chris Nye (Republican)

Vote4nye@gmail.com

(253) 380-4078

Sharon Benson (Democrat)

sharon@sharon4council.com

(253) 223-7159

 

County Council No. 6

Ann Dasch (Democrat)

daschforpiercecc@aol.com

(253) 884-4838

Doug Richardson (Republican)

council_man@hotmail.com

(253) 581-9475

 

Superior Court

Position 1

James R. Orlando

james.orlando94@yahoo.com

(253) 565-1219

 

Position 2

Katherine M. Stolz

katherinestolz@q.com

(253) 756-0434

 

Position 3

Christine Quinn-Brintnall

chris@QBappeals.org

(253) 219-0481

Thomas P. Larkin

mlarkinhome@yahoo.com

(253) 732-4584

 

Position 4

Bryan Chushcoff

bryan4judge@gmail.com

(253) 759-9279

 

Position 5

John (Jack) H. Hill

jhhill3@comcast.net

(253) 318-3336

Vicki L. Hogan

JudgeVickiHogan@nventure.com

(253) 370-6934

 

Position 6

Jack Nevin

J.Nevin@comcast.net

(253) 732-8865

 

Position 7

Bev Grant

judgebevgrant@comcast.net

(253) 302-3138

Jerry Costello

jerry@electjerrycostello.org

(253) 686-4428

 

Position 8

Brian Tollefson

RetainJudgeBrianTollefson@live.com

(253) 389-0071

 

Position 9

Edmund Murphy

emmurphy76@gmail.com

(253) 303-2934

 

Position 10

Gary Johnson

ccolywa@aol.com

(253) 229-9466

 

Position 11

John McCarthy

johnmccarthy251@hotmail.com

(253) 677-3377

 

Position 12

Antoni H. Froehling

tonifroehling@gmail.com

(253) 208-8494

Stephanie Arend

Stephanie@reelectjudgearend.com

(253) 306-5882

 

Position 13

James A. Schoenberger, Jr.

Jimschoe@me.com

(253) 444-3111

Kathryn Nelson

kjudge512@gmail.com

(253) 973-8030

 

Position 14

Susan Keers Serko

sue@serko.net

(253) 383-5388

 

Position 15

Thomas J. Felnagle

tomdebbyfelnagle@harbornet.com

(253) 565-2218

 

Position 16

Elizabeth P. Martin

elizabethpikemartin@gmail.com

(253) 278-2272

 

Position 17

Ronald E. Culpepper

culpepperr2004@yahoo.com

(253) 566-4162

 

Position 18

G. Helen Whitener

Stan Rumbaugh

sjrumbaugh@aol.com

(253) 318-4621

 

Position 19

Linda CJ Lee

lindacjlee@comcast.net

(253) 224-3442

 

Position 20

Kitty-Ann van Doorninck

kajajv@harbornet.com

(253) 593-6022

 

Position 21

Frank E. Cuthbertson

fcuthbe@gmail.com

(253) 759-7416

 

Judge Position 22

John R. Hickman

wcheese2@aol.com

(360) 402-1058

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>